Chitranganie Mubarak

Chitranganie Mubarak is the Chairperson of the ICT Agency of Sri Lanka, the apex ICT policy and implementation arm of the Government of Sri Lanka. She has played a significant role in the Country’s ICT4D effort over the last 10 years and was a major driver of ICTAs e-Sri Lanka Development Initiative, a project funded by the World Bank, the visions of which was to take the dividends of ICT to every village and every citizen. She has given direction to conceptualizing, planning and managing nearly 250 projects with wide ranging development outcomes. Several of these projects have been recognized internationally for their creativity and impact on society. In 2009 she introduced e-Swabhimani, the National Best e-Content Award to recognize creativity and innovation in the domain of ICT for Development.

In 2014, ICTA was the winner of the prestigious Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation’s Access to Learning Award (ATLA) and Chitranganie was the chief architect behind the proposal that led to ICTA getting this international recognition.

She serves as a Member of the Council of the University of Colombo, a Member of the Board of the Faculty of Graduate Studies at the University of Kelaniya, the Board of the University of Colombo School of Computing and the Board of National Education Research and Evaluation Centre. She is also Member of the Governing Council of the National Institute of Business Management.

Prior to joining the ICTA, she served as Director, TradenetSL, the e- commerce arm of the Sri Lanka Export Development where she was responsible for introducing several ICT solutions for facilitating the rural entrepreneur and played a key role in launching the country’s pioneering on-line trading platform.