2015 – 2001



The new Board consists of Chairperson Mrs. Chitranganie Mubarak, Managing Director Muhunthan Canagey, Dr. Ajith Madurapperuma, Mr.Ananda Wijeratne, Mr. Upul Kumarapperuma and Mr. Chanuka Wattegama.

Currently functions under Ministry of Telecommunication & Digital Infrastructure.



September - 2008

Sunset Clause of ICTA was removed and ICTA became a permanent entity. Mandate strengthened by the ICT Amendment Act 33 of 2008.



January - 2008

This is to manage the Connectivity services across all the government organizations which was connected by a private network called Lanka Government Network (LGN).



June - 2006

The Information Security Working Group (consists of Private Sector, Government Sector, Academia and Security Experts) which was established in January 2004 identified the necessity for the Creation, maintenance and dissemination of our ICT security body of knowledge (best practices, standards, procedures and threats) for Sri Lanka, including the setting up of a CERT center; Public Key infrastructure; Development of ICT security professionals in Sri Lanka; Awareness and training; Privacy issues.

Consequently ICTA set up the Sri Lanka Computer Emergency Readiness Team (Sri Lanka Computer Emergency Readiness Team | Coordination Center (SLCERT|CC)]) to proactively protect the information infrastructure of Sri Lanka.



May - 2006

Board Members: Fdfd, Mr. Llyod Fernando, Prof. Epasinghe (Chairman), Mr. R.B. Ekanayake, Mr. Ravi Senanayake, Mr. Vijaykumar

Chief Executive Officer: Mr. Reshan Dewapura.



December - 2005

After the implementation of the pilot projects, a six program strategy was defined. It encompassed the programs Information Infrastructure; ICT Policy, Leadership and Institutional Development; Re-engineering Government; ICT Human Resource Development; ICT Investment and Private Sector Development and the eSociety program.



February - 2005

Hypothesis tested based on some selected pilot projects such as eMoney Order, Empowering workforce with ICT skills, National Operations Room, Distance and e-Learning, Internally Displaced Persons Registry, Vishwa Gnana Kendraya (VGK), SME portal, Govi Gnana System, ePaliament, eOffice of the President, Legal Draftman’s website.



December - 2004

Signing of Credit Agreement between GoSL and IDA (Dec 2004), with USD 53m;



February - 2004

eSri Lanka Project successfully appraised in Feb 2004.



July - 2003

As a Company, fully owned by the Government of Sri Lanka. Becomes Operational and Vested with powers under ICT Act No.27 of 2003 with the Vision

ICTA Operates with principles
* Stay small and dynamic
* Adopt Project Management methodology
* Stakeholder led and owned (focus groups)
* Implement through partnerships (private, public and civil society) with program structure



June - 2002

The shared stakeholders’ s belief, resulted in a shared vision for eSri Lanka. An ICT Development Roadmap is operational.Aligning with Country Assistance Strategy & Poverty Reduction Strategy. eSri Lanka Design Model – A Nation’s Development with ICT.

During project preparation, GOSL plans to establish an autonomous government agency called ICTA, Information & Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka, which has the mandate to lead the e-Sri Lanka initiative.

eSri Lanka Functions under Prime Minister’s Minister, Mr. Ranil Wickremasinghe.



February - 2001

Sri Lanka is on the threshold of a new wave of social and economic development built on the foundations of peace, equity, and social harmony. To achieve the desired levels of Development, Sri Lanka must enhance national competitiveness, reduce/eradicate poverty, and realize enhancements in the quality of life of its citizens.

With this backdrop, Government of Sri Lanka started conceptualizes the ICT strategy for the Country with the contribution and facilitation of ADA, USAID, SIDA, CIDA and World Bank.